Left Header Right Header
Header 3a   Header Right End A Header Right End B Space
Header Left 3b
Movie Reviews Movie Trivia
FREE Membership MatchFlick Friday - Win Free DVDs






Member Login  [help]
 
 
 
 
 
Member Trends
 Top 10 List
 Exclusive Interviews
 Horror Club
 Zombie Club
Movie News
 Current News
 News Archives
Message Board
 Go To The Forum
Cool Statistics
 Member Stats
 Trivia Stats
Columns   [more]
 But, Wait. Is It...
 Sounds Like Flut...
 One Of The Three...
 Taking His Place...
 Column Archives
Popular Movies  [more]
 World War Z
 Mission Impossible 4
 Twilight Breaking Dawn
Popular People  [more]
 Leonardo DiCaprio
 Megan Fox
 Tom Cruise
Membership
 Join for FREE
 FAQs
 About MatchFlick
 Privacy Policy
Contests
 Guess That Scene
Syndication
 RSS Feeds
  
MatchFlick Member Reviews
Hoosiers
2 reviews

review this movie

read all reviews

Movie Details

view all movie information
Directed By
David Anspaugh

Written By:
Angelo Pizzo

Cast:
Gene Hackman, Barbara Hershey, Dennis Hopper, David Neidorf, Sheb Wooley, Fern Parsons, Brad Boyle, Steve Hollar, Brad Long

Buy on DVD
 
 
Hoosiers (1986)
email this review to a friend

Movie Review by Jessica Film Junkie
February 11th, 2007

An over-rated dud

A dull film about a small town, all-white basketball team that makes it to the Indiana State Championships. I am not much one for sport's movies, however some have touched me in the past. This snorer starring Gene Hackman was not worth my time. Blah.

email this review to a friend

Comment on this Review:

Sorry, you must be a member to add comments to reviews.

Join or Login.



Zara
Feb 11, 2007 9:29 PM
 
It was a huge darling of the critics when it came out, but I agree with you, it's painfully boring. Dennis Hopper was the only character that I actually liked.

Jenny
Feb 12, 2007 12:19 PM
 
Thank you!! This is one of my dad's all-time favorite movies, and he made me watch it several times. I thought it was boring when I was little, and I still think it's boring.

Terrence
May 13, 2007 10:49 AM
 
You know not that I mean to focus on stereotyping but this film if you've played basketball or been envoled with basketball, or if you just ever dreamed you could work with a group of people (or guys) toward one common goal that you know you will probably never achieve again then you can't help but like this film.

When I see reviews and comments like this simply calling a film a snorer and without commenting on the musical score or the way the basketball scenes were shoot tells me more about the reviewer than it does the movie.
Jessica Film Junkie
May 13, 2007 4:28 PM
 
There have been a lot of great movies about sports I hate. Like 'Any Given Sunday', for instance, I will totally admit that I am not a big basketball fan but that does not make this a good movie.
Terrence
May 13, 2007 4:55 PM
 
I suppose my point is that just like when some people say a movie is a chic flick so all guys will not like it that bothers me. I like so called "chic flicks" too and I'm not gay and sometime I can probably be too macho.

I think it goes to ge able to relate. Also there is some good technical work in this film.
Jessica Film Junkie
May 14, 2007 1:18 AM
 
All I know is this film was really dull in my opinion. I am certainly not someone who won't watch a film because it doesn't fit into a category I like. How else would I have seen 'Manos: The Hands of Fate'?
Terrence
May 14, 2007 2:26 AM
 
Lets break this down even more shall we...

Are you a hardcore basketball fan? (when I say hardcore I mean do you watch more than 30 or 40 games a year) If you are a hardcore fan what parts really bored you and why?

If not then what basketball movies have you ever watched or enjoyed?
Jessica Film Junkie
May 14, 2007 2:35 AM
 
I am not a hardcore basketball fan. I am not really a big sports fan and I especially hate football, but I like a few football movies, I really don't like baseball but I love 'A League of Their Own', I like 'Field of Dreams' and 'Bull Durham'.

The only basketball movie I can think of that I like is 'Love and Basketball'.
Terrence
May 14, 2007 2:48 AM
 
As a response to the comment below.
Well except for a few most people that are hardcore basketball fans would say they love this film. People that have played basketball and where into the history of the game would if not love at least understand and like the film (not all but most).

I suppose thats my point. There is nothing for you to cling to because it is not the kind of movie that eases you into liking it. You can't admire that alot of the shots in the film mimick old baskerball photographs or film footage. Or the fact that alot of old school baskerball coachs have had anger management problems when dealing with players.

There are some people that can enjoy it on a level not understanding basketball that much or not being a hardcore fan. But you can't.
Jessica Film Junkie
May 14, 2007 3:39 PM
 
Ok I am replying to your last comment. I just want to say that movies should be approachable for everyone no matter what their interests are and great films make things that you don't find interesting to be fascinating, they change your perception.

I am obviously not the only person who didn't like this movie. I know you like it, I know a lot of people who like it, but it bored me.



Subscribe to MatchFlick Movie Reviews through RSS



  Terms of Use | Press | Contact Us
Partnership and Advertising Opportunities | Movie Database | Merchandise

©2004-2014 MatchFlick®. All rights reserved.
©MOVIE IMAGES ARE COPYRIGHT PROTECTED AND THE PROPERTY OF THEIR RESPECTIVE OWNERS