Left Header Right Header
Header 3a   Header Right End A Header Right End B Space
Header Left 3b
Movie Reviews Movie Trivia
FREE Membership MatchFlick Friday - Win Free DVDs






Member Login  [help]
 
 
 
 
 
Member Trends
 Top 10 List
 Exclusive Interviews
 Horror Club
 Zombie Club
Movie News
 Current News
 News Archives
Message Board
 Go To The Forum
Cool Statistics
 Member Stats
 Trivia Stats
Columns   [more]
 I Can Feel It. C...
 Life Seems To Im...
 One Is All It Us...
 A Cornucopia Of ...
 Column Archives
Popular Movies  [more]
 World War Z
 Mission Impossible 4
 Twilight Breaking Dawn
Popular People  [more]
 Leonardo DiCaprio
 Megan Fox
 Tom Cruise
Membership
 Join for FREE
 FAQs
 About MatchFlick
 Privacy Policy
Contests
 Guess That Scene
Syndication
 RSS Feeds
  
MatchFlick Member Reviews
The History Boys
2 reviews

review this movie

read all reviews

Movie Details

view all movie information
Directed By
Nicholas Hytner

Written By:
Alan Bennett

Cast:
Richard Griffiths, Clive Merrison, Stephen Campbell Moore, Andrew Knott, James Corden, Dominic Cooper, Jamie Parker, Samuel Barnett, Frances de la Tour, Sacha Dhawan, Samuel Anderson, Russell Tovey

Buy on DVD
 
 
The History Boys (2006)
email this review to a friend

Movie Review by Justin
April 26th, 2007

The History Boys

And welcome back, dear readers, to Justin's movie blog. Though this review is about a week late, here it is none the less, "The History Boys", directed by Nicholas Hytner (also known for "The Madness of King George") and starring Richard Griffiths (Uncle Dursley in the "Harry Potter" movies).

This is the second British drama I've watched in a week that I have the same word to describe: dry. Very dry. While the story is nothing knew: boys on the road of life have a teacher that tries to inspire greatness in them. The story has been done so much better in so many ways.

Again, I always try to reiderate that it's not my place to tell you what to watch and what not to, but I don't think I'd be alone in my assumption in this. Maybe it's because I didn't care for the c*cky teenagers that much. The struggle to try and get into Oxford isn't one that I'm terribly familiar with. Hell, I can't even relate attempting an Ivy League school in America.

And maybe that's why I felt so detatched and distanced from the movie. But, maybe that's also what the movie is trying to invoke. They try and pound home, throughout the film, that in order to take a good look at history one must remain detatched. And that's just how this movie feels.

And dry.

Which is a pity, because they could have developed the characters so much better.

But, who's going to like this movie? Well, if you're a fan of "Dead Poet's Society" you may enjoy this one. But really, that's about the closest movie I can compare it too.

email this review to a friend

Comment on this Review:

Sorry, you must be a member to add comments to reviews.

Join or Login.



Zara
Apr 26, 2007 12:46 PM
 
I guess I'm beginning to wonder why you give everything 5 stars if you don't really consider them to be 5 star affairs. Well, other than having your name at the top of the highest rating list.

It just feels rather inaccurate for those people cruising by who are looking to check out the star rating and not really read the reviews.
Justin
Apr 26, 2007 1:16 PM
 
As I've stated before (and is posted in my profile), I don't believe in rating systems. It is not my place to tell you what to see and what not to see. You have a brain, think for yourself.

But, because Matchflick imposes a rating system, wiether I like it or not, I will always give a movie 5 stars. (again, look in my profile under About Me as to why)
Zara
Apr 26, 2007 1:30 PM
 
Yes, but most people don't look deeper. The star system was created (and made successful) because of the fact that the majority of the people in this world are skimmers.

While you don't believe in the system and you state that on your profile, most of the time people aren't going to investigate that deeply. Therefore your star system is coming off as extremely deceptive.

I understand this isn't a paying job, but if you were to say to your boss, "I know that you want me to label things with different colors so that they're easier to find in the filing system but I just think people should read through everything and figure it out on their own," I don't think you'd be holding that job for very long.

Again, you have the freedom here (within a certain extent) to say what you want and give stars as you see fit. But you're pissing against the wind. Your right, but also defeating the ultimate purpose.
Justin
Apr 26, 2007 1:37 PM
 
Gee whiz wilikers, I'm sorry.

You know what, you're right, I don't work in an office where things *need* to be color cooridinated for various reasons. I'm writing in a field that is full of opinionated a**holes.

Ask yourself this, why the f*ck should I take your advice on a movie? Just because you've seen 10,000 of them? Join the f*cking club. I don't know about you, but most people I talk to say the same thing over and over again "I never listen to movie critics."

Why? Because of the word critic. Critics are professional haters and seem to have little to nothing in common with the general audience. Last summer "Pirates of the Carribean 2" got the sh*t panned out of it. It was the top grossing movie of the summer. So, do you honestly think that the general public gives a sh*t about reviews? No.

So, I'm sorry, I'm not going to insult peoples intelligence and trust that they're only 'skimming' my reviews. That being said, this will be the last review I write for MatchFlick.
Zara
Apr 26, 2007 3:22 PM
 
Well, I suppose if you never believed in an imposed grading star system, you might not have wanted to write any at all in the first place.

Logic... ain't it a b*tch?
Zombie Boy
Apr 26, 2007 5:03 PM
 
Um...so...you don't believe rating films, and you don't think people should pay attention to what you have to say, yet you write a review of it, for a review site. Hence, you are acting as critic. Hence, you are what you hate: a critic. If this was at your personal blog, I wouldn't say a word. But it isn't. It's at a website produced solely for the purpose of reviewing films. You're exhibiting a contradictory nature. Plus, you should spell-check.
Tim
Apr 26, 2007 6:27 PM
 
[comment deleted by Tim]
Tim
Apr 26, 2007 6:35 PM
 
Well in your last review you stated that no one on MatchFlick reads your reviews.......I dont understand why you dont understand that the reason why is because you rate everything 5 stars........I know you publish reviews on Myspace but Myspace is not a movie specific site......People on MatchFlick like critics because in a way every member is one.



Subscribe to MatchFlick Movie Reviews through RSS



  Terms of Use | Press | Contact Us
Partnership and Advertising Opportunities | Movie Database | Merchandise

©2004-2017 MatchFlick®. All rights reserved.
©MOVIE IMAGES ARE COPYRIGHT PROTECTED AND THE PROPERTY OF THEIR RESPECTIVE OWNERS

Web Analytics