Left Header Right Header
Header 3a   Header Right End A Header Right End B Space
Header Left 3b
Movie Reviews Movie Trivia
FREE Membership MatchFlick Friday - Win Free DVDs






Member Login  [help]
 
 
 
 
 
Member Trends
 Top 10 List
 Exclusive Interviews
 Horror Club
 Zombie Club
Movie News
 Current News
 News Archives
Message Board
 Go To The Forum
Cool Statistics
 Member Stats
 Trivia Stats
Columns   [more]
 Have You Been Sp...
 But Can She Act?...
 They're Not The ...
 Time Does Fly Wh...
 Column Archives
Popular Movies  [more]
 World War Z
 Mission Impossible 4
 Twilight Breaking Dawn
Popular People  [more]
 Leonardo DiCaprio
 Megan Fox
 Tom Cruise
Membership
 Join for FREE
 FAQs
 About MatchFlick
 Privacy Policy
Contests
 Guess That Scene
Syndication
 RSS Feeds
  
MatchFlick Member Reviews
Broken Flowers
9 reviews

review this movie

read all reviews

Movie Details

view all movie information
Directed By
Jim Jarmusch

Written By:
Jim Jarmusch

Cast:
Bill Murray, Frances Conroy, Julie Delpy, Jessica Lange, Sharon Stone, Tilda Swinton, Jeffrey Wright

Buy on DVD
 
 
Broken Flowers (2005)
email this review to a friend

Movie Review by Jessica Film Junkie
May 8th, 2007

Lovely and Amazing

This film is slow and painful and lovely and it really feels like a slice of life. It follows Don Johnston ("with a t"), played by the tragic clown Bill Murray, a long-time bachelor who receives a note telling him he has a nineteen year old son wiht no return address or signature. With the help of his neighbour (the always-fantastic Jeffrey Wright) he sets out a course to visit all the women he slept with 20 years ago.

Because it is a Jim Jarmusch film there is a lot of coffee and not a lot of action, but these are the kind of movies I love. You see every moment of pathetic realization wave over Murray's face and the women, oh! the women. The ladies he left are Sharon Stone, Frances Conroy, Jessica Lange and Tilda Swinton. Each woman is astounding in their brief scenes with Murray. Each has an entirely different reaction to his arrival and each demonstrates that actresses 'of a certain age' are vital and needed in modern cinema.

This is a lovely and stirring film that is even more still and silent than the previous Murray 'serious actor candidate' role in 2003's 'Lost in Translation'. In fact that film could be seen as a comedy in comparison.

I loved it, what can I say...it gave me goosebumps.

email this review to a friend

Comment on this Review:

Sorry, you must be a member to add comments to reviews.

Join or Login.



Jeffrey
May 8, 2007 5:29 AM
 
I liked it better the first time I saw Bill Murray play this role in Lost in Translation.

This was pretentious garbage.
Nicholas
May 8, 2007 7:59 AM
 
It's like there's some unofficial contest between directors today, to see who can make Bill Murray act the most stollid.

Jeffrey
May 8, 2007 3:03 PM
 
No kidding. Since when did showing absolutely no emotion over the course of an entire movie, become something to praise someone for?
Jessica Film Junkie
May 8, 2007 3:13 PM
 
Just because he doesn't wear his heart on his sleeve doesn't mean he is not showing emotions. I like his performance here because it is so subtle, you see little flickers across his face whenever he sees a guy who is the age of his supposed son. You see how he is no longer able to see women the same way after his experiences, he seems like a real person instead of a regular film where he would explain his every emotion...here he is raw.
Jeffrey
May 8, 2007 4:24 PM
 
Raw....Meryl Streep in Sophie's Choice was raw. Here's it's just a case of a guy not only having no range, but sinfully duplicating his performance from his last dramatic effort. Don't mistake subtlety with lack of talent.
Jessica Film Junkie
May 8, 2007 4:33 PM
 
His character in 'Translation' was completely different, here is playing a person realizing he is dead inside. I don't know about you but I know a lot of people like this, quiet and pained. I see the similarity between the performances, probably because Jarmusch saw Murray's ability to play a quiet role because of 'translation', but the way they cope is entirely different.
Jeffrey
May 8, 2007 4:40 PM
 
He's realizing the same thing in Lost in Translation! Look, I'm not saying those 'quiet and pained' people don't exist. I'm just saying Murray didn't do anything special here, and the film lumbered on without any real purpose.
Jessica Film Junkie
May 9, 2007 2:31 AM
 
I just totally disagree. I love his character, I love the women, I love Jeffrey Wright, I love the pace, I love the lack of any real tangible conclusion, I loved it all!

Jeffrey
May 9, 2007 3:53 AM
 
I guess you were the one who dug Elizabethtown so yeah, your opinion: null and very f*cking void.
Jessica Film Junkie
May 9, 2007 3:46 PM
 
Wow...we are all entitled to our opinions, just because I disagreed with the critics on 'elizabethtown' certainly doesn't null and void me. Please try to be a little more respectful.



Subscribe to MatchFlick Movie Reviews through RSS



  Terms of Use | Press | Contact Us
Partnership and Advertising Opportunities | Movie Database | Merchandise

©2004-2017 MatchFlick®. All rights reserved.
©MOVIE IMAGES ARE COPYRIGHT PROTECTED AND THE PROPERTY OF THEIR RESPECTIVE OWNERS

Web Analytics